What our guests say…

Read reviews on this page and on 

TripAdvisor

TripAdvisor review by Tim F, USA (March 2017)

TripAdvisor review for Shutterbug Walkabouts by Tim Fagan - March 2017

TripAdvisor review by Sally L, USA (March 2017)

TripAdvisor review for Shutterbug Walkabouts by Sally L - Feb 2017

Zoe and her mum Anna enjoyed a half-day photography tour in historic Richmond Tasmania“Thank you for the time you spent with Zoe and I a couple weeks ago, both of us thoroughly enjoyed it. To spend the morning with someone who knows so much about cameras and photography was really amazing and it has inspired Zoe and I both to extend our photography beyond the standard snapshot. Zoe particularly is now is looking at her photos with an artist’s eye. And Coreena you are such a lovely person, full of interesting facts not only about photography but Tassie as well. A very informative  and enjoyable morning.  I am spreading the word about Shutterbug!”Zoe and her mum Anna enjoyed a half-day photography tour in historic Richmond Tasmania

Anna S, TAS Australia (Jul 2015)

“I thoroughly enjoyed my night time course. Roy and Coreena were very helpful and thoughtful, when I looked lost Coreena or Roy simply asked what was I having trouble with? … “you taught me more in that night than I have learnt on both my photography tours I paid a fortune for!”
I heartily recommend both Roy and Coreena , while in Hobart or Tasmania to go do a photography course with Shutterbug Walkabouts.”
(Night Photography Walkabout)

Lucille, TAS Australia (Apr, 2015)

“A fantastic day with wonderful company & tutors. I cannot think of any way you could improve on what you are doing so thank you for the opportunity and the privilege of being able to be so close to those wonderful little critters!”
(A day at Bonorong, Wildlife Photography Workshop)

Toni F, TAS Australia (Feb 2015)

Toni F on the Wildlife Photography Workshop Shutterbug Walkabouts at Bonorong

“I would like to thank Roy for his patience and understanding when I was with him recently for my photographic experience. The areas he took me to were beautiful and appropriate for the type of photography I had said were my interests.
As my camera was fairly new to me, I feel I could have learnt more in that time had I known more of the capabilities of my camera, however with what Roy told me and the notes he gave me I feel much more confident. I took lots of photos while in Tasmania and I am enjoying using my camera and taking more time with the composition of my shots.”

Alison T, VIC Australia (Feb 2015)

“(I most enjoyed the) individual attention and responsiveness to individual wishes with extensive knowledge of the areas and effective ways to take better pictures.”

David W, NZ (Dec 2014)

David W on the Hobart Twilight Photography Tour Shutterbug Walkabouts

“I really appreciated your suggestions about use of aperture control and used them for the rest of our trip.”

Lucy G, USA (Nov 2014)

George & Lucy on Half Day Photography Tour Mt Wellington Hobart Tasmania

“Thank you for your time and efforts in planning such an interesting day of photography for me.  From my few words of inspiration you hit the nail on the head when it came to possible subjects.”

Darryl B, NZ (via email, Oct 2013)

Daryl B on a full Day Private Hobart Photography Tour Shutterbug Walkabouts at Shene Tasmania

“Coreena offered us a fun, educational and energetic day out. She not only knows her local history, but is passionate about sharing it with others.”

Teresa M, USA (Jun 2014)

“(I most enjoyed) learning about light and it’s ability to influence the end result or draw attention to a subject.”

Melissa V, TAS Australia (Dec 2014)

Coreena was very accommodating with taking us where we wanted to go and providing commentary and guidance as to what we were seeing. She provided a great tour for us.”

Bob M, USA (Feb 2014)

“…I walked away with some photos that were (for me) quite stunning and some confidence that I can move off the auto button…”

Kerry S, TAS Australia (Mar 2014)

“Thanks for your patience and help. I have been more aware now of the small changes I can make to achieve better results.”

Claire B, WA (via e-mail Apr 2013)

“I found Roy’s attention to detail fantastic, I consider myself a reasonable photographer but clearly have a habit of glossing past the little things and only looking at the big picture, Roy showed me how to stop, look down and appreciate all of the environments little wonders as well and it’s amazing how many miniature worlds you can see.” – Ferns, Fungi and Waterfalls

Jamie H, TAS (via e-mail Sep 2013)

“Thank you for a wonderful tour “Hobart by night” – FINALLY I understand what to do when doing night time / low light photography. I still ‘wiggle buttons’ and hope for the best – but now I am doing it with much more knowledge and actually understand what I am doing! Thank you for your patience Roy – I can’t believe that I actually took this shot with my camera – now I realise it really is worth understanding my camera and not taking the lazy way out and leaving it on auto – am very excited to get out and do more – just wish I had gone out with you at the beginning of my holiday and not the end!! THANK YOU!!” – Night Photography

Karen L, ACT (via Facebook Jun 2013)

“I found my afternoon with Roy to be much more than I expected. Not only did he teach me about my camera but opened a whole range of new techniques and opportunities. I had considered myself at least moderately competent before an afternoon in Mount Wellington. He showed me that despite poor weather conditions (including hail) we were able to take extraordinary shots in places I had not believed possible and not using any extra equipment. The other thing that he changed for me was that it is worth taking time to get the “perfect” shot. To some extent I was stuck in the old film days and to discover how to make use the delights of the digital age was eye opening.” – One-on-One

Geoff S, TAS (via email Feb 2013)

“Thank you for such a great morning – I thoroughly enjoyed it and learnt a lot from your considerable expertise. I have since re-read the instruction manual (relevant sections) for my camera and it has made a lot more sense to me after learning from you. Your very practical, clear and simple explanations of my camera settings and how to get the best out of them was much appreciated.

Stephen D, Australia (Dec 2012)

“Very personal, casual, yet very informative. Felt comfortable asking questions”

Helen D, TAS Australia (Dec 2012)

“Thank you Roy and Coreena for the Capturing Close-ups walkabout. How fortunate were we with the weather! I really enjoyed the personalised environment you created, and the educational mix which covered general photography, close-up photography and camera features. Such a worthwhile experience!” – Capturing Close-ups

Melanie C, TAS (via Facebook Dec 2012)

“Your passion for photography, professionalism and willingness to impart what you have learned through your own ‘life experiences’ is evident and the calm, relaxed manner in which you conduct yourselves is appreciated.” – Chalet to Organ Pipes

Annette C, TAS (via email Dec 2012)

“Spending several hours with you going through some tips and tricks of photography is one of the highlights of my visit to Tasmania. I learnt a lot about my own camera especially the techniques on using the right settings relevant for the scene or subject I am capturing. I also admire your knowledge of the surrounding area which just added to the whole experience for me.
I would highly recommend it to anyone who wishes to learn from someone who is so experienced and very passionate about photography.
Thanks again very much it was really great.” – One-on-One

Robert A, ACT (via email Nov 2012)

“I was given the most amazing gift of a photography outing with Shutterbug Walkabouts Tasmania, Saturday morning Chalet to Organ Pipes, I thoroughly enjoyed the experience with the hosts Roy and Coreena, and the other photographers, I am planning to get back to Hobart and join their other groups sometime next year, Thank you all, just loved it, Joan” – Chalet to Organ Pipes from a gift certificate.

Joan G, TAS (via Facebook Nov 2012)

“I loved it! Very friendly hosts, very informative and just a great time! It’s been a while since I did any shooting with other photography enthusiasts or been out shooting real photos, not just happy snaps. The tour really helped to bring back some of the passion.” – Dusk to Dark

Suzanne M, VIC (via email Mar 2012)